Forum Post
Index > Scribe > Messages left on mail server

Author/Date Messages left on mail server
Neil Robins
13/11/2003 5:41am
Is there a problem deleting mail from the server using the preview facility in v1.86 Test 44 Win32 release? When I preview my emails, I find that messages I had previously flagged for deletion are still there. BTW, congrats on the new look; the icons and colours are sensational.
fReT
13/11/2003 5:54am
What happens in the log when you select mail for deletion using the preview on server window and then hit ok?

Open the status window, click on the account, click the log tab and then after it's finished, right click and copy into a mail if you want me to see it.

I'm not aware of any issues in that feature at the moment.
Neil Robins
14/11/2003 4:52pm
Seems that items flagged for deletion are deleted, but that items flagged for download are downloaded but not deleted from server. So they are still there next time you go to view mail on the server.

Log file attached as requested:

+OK POP3 server ready.
USER robinsn@ozemail.com.au
+OK please send PASS command
PASS *******
+OK robinsn@ozemail.com.au is welcome here
STAT
+OK 15 158251
LIST 1
+OK 1 4016
RETR 1
LIST 2
+OK 2 5116
RETR 2
LIST 3
+OK 3 6542
RETR 3
LIST 4
+OK 4 3293
RETR 4
LIST 5
+OK 5 35992
RETR 5
LIST 6
+OK 6 1789
RETR 6
LIST 7
+OK 7 5139
RETR 7
LIST 8
+OK 8 3581
RETR 8
LIST 10
+OK 10 2362
RETR 10
LIST 11
+OK 11 4362
RETR 11
DELE 15
+OK
DELE 14
+OK
DELE 13
+OK
DELE 12
+OK
DELE 9
+OK
QUIT
+OK robinsn@ozemail.com.au POP3 server signing off.
fReT
17/11/2003 6:33pm
If all you select on the preview pane is "download" then Scribe doesn't do any deletion. You have to select both download and delete to do both.

The preview lets you download without deleting.
Neil Robins
19/11/2003 7:36am
Oh. I was expecting that if you chose to download, then the messages would be deleted from the server as they were downloaded. Thanks for the explanation.
Reply